autonomous region

Autonomous Regions are a provincial level of administrative division in China. They are like a province with their local government but with more legislative rights. It is an entity of minorities in China. These regions have a higher population of particular minority ethnic groups.

Inner Mongolia gained status in the year 1947, Xinjiang joined in the year 1955. Guangxi and Ningxia in the year 1958. Tibet obtained status in the year 1965. Mongols are even less than a percentage of Inner Mongolia. It is the first level among the administrative divisions of China.

There are five autonomous regions:


Inner Mongolia




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *