Inner Mongolia

Inner MongoliaInner Mongolia (Nei Mongo) is an Autonomous Region situated in the northern part of the country. The shares border with the U.S.S.R. and the People’s Republic of Mongolia. The capital city of this autonomous region is Hohhot. It gained Autonomous status on the 1st of May, 1947.

This area is the first autonomous region for minorities in the country of China.

It has an area of over 1.183 million square kilometers (about 1/8 of the total area of the country) and a population of 24.71 million (2010), comprising of the Mongolian, Han, Daur, Ewenki, Oroqen, Hui, Manchu, Korean and other nationalities. The Mongolians are 18% of the total population here. It has the most extensive grasslands of the country, 19% of the entire pasture of the country is in Inner Mongolia.


This region is rich in livestock. The number of sheep and goats accounted for about 20.2% of the country in 2017.
It is rich in mineral deposits, such as rare earth and coal. This region has the most number of new minerals. Among the 50 newly recognized fossils in the world, it has ten of them. This region is one of the leading miners of coal in the country; it has the second-largest reserves of coal after the Province of  Shanxi. The area aims to be a significant national base for energy, metallurgy, and agricultural output.

Animal husbandry is an important sector accounting for about 43% of the gross output of the agricultural output. Due to a large number of sheep and goats, it is the leading province in the production of sheep wool and cashmere. It has a considerable output of mutton, which accounts for 22.1% of the share of the production of the country.

The Mongolian ethnic culture and historical places are prime attractions.

The major exports are base metal, chemical, textile, and related products.

Main Cities



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *